HTML Basic

Conditional Comment:  <!–[if ]> content <![endif]–>

Head Element:

<meta charset=”utf-8″>
<meta http-equiv=”X-UA-Compatible” content=”IE=edge”>
<meta name=”viewport” content=”width=device-width, initial-scale=1″>
<title>
<meta name=”description” content=”…”> (160 charac)
<meta name=”keywords” content=”…, …, …”>
<meta name=”author” content=”…”>
<meta property=”og:image” content=”….jpg”/>
<meta http-equiv=”refresh” content=”60″>

  • <link>: google font, bootstrap, css
  • <script>: jquery, jquery plug-in, bootstrap, js
  • <style>
  • <base>

Header Element: h1– used by search engines; include only 1 per page

Block Elements: div, p, ul, ol, li, h1-h6, form, header, footer, section
Inline Elements: span, a, em, img, strong

Text Breaking & White Space: <pre>, <br>, <hr>, &nbsp;

Lists: <ul>, <ol>, <dl>

Table: <table width=” ” border=” ” cellpadding=” ” cellspacing=” “> <caption> <thead> <tfoot> <tbody>

  • <tr> – required in header, body and footer
  • <th> – cell in the header
  • <td> – cell in the body or footer
  • Spanning – colspan / rowspan

Objects: Plug-ins, Applets, Videos
<object data=” ” type=” ” width=” ” height=” “><param name=” ” value=” “>

About bernadetteengleman

Hello, I am Bernadette from New York City. I moved here from Chicago in 2013. I am originally from the Philippines. I started studying web programming in 2015. I love it because I like making fun websites and web apps. The projects that I built so far are posted below. I like to cook and I love to travel. I also like to volunteer and I am a team leader with the non-profit organization, NYCares.
This entry was posted in HTML/CSS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.